Learning Communities
Learning Communities

​​​Our district has nine learning communities each led by a learning community superintendent. 

The learning communities are linked and include Central, East, North, Northeast, Northwest, South, Southeast, Southwest and West.

Schools in the learning communities are aligned to increase instructional leadership support evenly throughout the district. The structure of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools learning communities is intended to better support high schools and schools that feed into them.  

Organizing our learning communities in this way allows many of our students to be in the same learning community from kindergarten until graduation from high school. Such stability helps students to achieve at high levels and graduate on time.

These learning communities are based on a district-wide commitment to three key beliefs.

  1. Schools are the unit of academic transformation and achievement for our students.

  2. Every CMS employee and every functional area is crucial to maximize service to our schools.

  3. Academic achievement for our students, and improving organizational effectiveness will strengthen service delivery to schools.
P.O. Box 30035
Charlotte, NC 28230-0035
Phone: 980-343-3000
The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools website (www.cms.k12.nc.us) is in compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Any website accessibility concerns may be brought via the following, Email the Web Accessibility Team at WebAccessibility or Call: 980.343.0115. In compliance with Federal Law, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools administers all education programs, employment activities and admissions without discrimination against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, national origin, age, or disability. Inquiries regarding compliance with Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in education programs or activities, may be referred to the District's Title IX Coordinator at titleixcoordinator or to the Office for Civil Rights, United States Department of Education.