Hugh Hattabaugh

Interim Superintendent

In April 2022, the Board of Education appointed Hugh Hattabaugh as interim superintendent. Prior to retirement in 2013, Hattabaugh served as Chief Academic Officer in Lake County Public Schools, Tavares, Florida. Hattabaugh previously served as interim superintendent of the district 2011-2012. Prior to this appointment, he had served as the district’s chief operating officer. Mr. Hattabaugh first came to CMS in July 2007 as area superintendent of the North Learning Community. Prior to joining CMS, Hattabaugh was deputy superintendent of the Little Rock School District in Arkansas. Hattabaugh began his education career as a science teacher, coach and has also held positions as an administrative dean, assistant principal, and served as a principal for 12 years with Orange County Public Schools (OCPS) in Florida. Mr. Hattabaugh is an assessor in leadership development and assessment for the National Association of Secondary School Principals. Hattabaugh has a bachelor’s degree in biology from Ball State University and a master’s degree in secondary education from Indiana University.

P.O. Box 30035
Charlotte, NC 28230-0035
Phone: 980-343-3000
The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools website ( is in compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Any website accessibility concerns may be brought via the following, Email the Web Accessibility Team at WebAccessibility or Call: 980.343.0115. In compliance with Federal Law, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools administers all education programs, employment activities and admissions without discrimination against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, national origin, age, or disability. Inquiries regarding compliance with Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in education programs or activities, may be referred to the District's Title IX Coordinator at titleixcoordinator or to the Office for Civil Rights, United States Department of Education.