The CMS management team is comprised of executive staff, learning community superintendents and other CMS leaders. To contact a member of the management team, click on the appropriate contact link and complete the form, including your name, address, phone number, email address, e​​tc.

Earnest Winston


Cabinet Members

Nancy Brightwell - Executive Director SW Learning Commmunity.jpg

Dr. Frank D. Barnes

Chief Accountability Officer

Nancy Brightwell

Chief Academic Officer

Akeshia Craven-Howell

Associate Superintendent,
Magnets, Student Assignment and Advanced Programs
Northwest learning community superintendent

Dr. Matthew Hayes

Deputy Superintendent of Academics


LaTarzja Henry

Chief of Staff
Christine Pejot

Dr. Kondra Rattley.jpg

Christine Pejot

Chief Human Resources Officer

Dr. Kondra Rattley
Chief of Equity and School Performance

Brian Schultz.jpg
Patrick Smith_03c-R.jpg

Sheila W. Shirley

Chief Financial Officer

Brian Schultz
Chief Operations Officer

Patrick Smith
Assistant Superintendent for Communications

Executive Staff and Learning Community Superintendents


Dr. Raymond Barnes

Central 1 Learning Community Superintendent

Angie Bartles

Executive Director of Strategy Management

Acquanetta S. Edmond

Acquanetta Edmond

Northwest Learning Community Superintendent

Dr. Stephen Esposito

Southwest Learning Community Superintendent

Laura Francisco

Associate Superintendent, Human Resources

Sonja Gantt

Executive Director of CMS Public Schools Foundation

Lisa Mangum

Chief of CMS Police

Avery Mitchell

Associate Superintendent of Middle Schools

 Cotrane Penn_08.jpg

Dr. Cotrane Penn

Executive Director of Student Services



Trish Sexton

Associate Superintendent of Elementary Schools

Tara Lynn Sullivan

Central 2 Learning Community Superintendent

Kathleen Sunseri

Executive Director of Federal Programs
Beth Thompson - Assistant Superintendent of Academics.jpg

Eve White_05C-R.jpg

Beth Thompson
Assistant Superintendent, Academics

Charlotte Nadja Trez

Executive Director of Learning and Language Acquisition

John Wall

Northeast Learning Community Superintendent

Dr. Ann White

Associate Superintendent, Student Services

Eve White

Executive Director of Communications

Dr. Tangela Williams

Southeast Learning Community Superintendent



P.O. Box 30035
Charlotte, NC 28230-0035
Phone: 980-343-3000
The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools website ( is in compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Any website accessibility concerns may be brought via the following, Email the Web Accessibility Team at WebAccessibility or Call: 980.343.0115. In compliance with Federal Law, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools administers all education programs, employment activities and admissions without discrimination against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, national origin, age, or disability. Inquiries regarding compliance with Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in education programs or activities, may be referred to the District's Title IX Coordinator at titleixcoordinator or to the Office for Civil Rights, United States Department of Education.