Board of Education

 Board of Education Members

Elyse C. Dashew
Thelma Byers-Bailey
District 2
Jennifer De La Jara
Member At-Large
Lenora Sanders Shipp
Member At-Large
Rhonda Cheek
Member District 1
Dr. Ruby M. Jones
Member District 3
Carol Sawyer
Member District 4
Margaret Marshall
Member District 5
Sean Strain
Member District 6
Breana Fowler
Student Advisor

Responsibilities of the Board of Education

The nine-member Board of Education is the governing body of Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools, with five primary responsibilities:

  • Employ the superintendent 
  • Establish policy 
  • Determine annual operating and capital budgets
  • Approve student assignment boundaries
  • Oversee the management of the school district’s major systems, including budget and finance, curriculum and instruction, personnel and auxiliary services


The CMS Board of Education includes six district representatives and three at-large representatives. District and at-large representatives are elected every two years on a rotating schedule. All members serve four-year terms. For more information, visit the Board of Elections website.

Meeting Schedule

The Board of Education holds regular monthly meetings, open to the public, on the second and fourth Tuesdays at 6:00 p.m, unless indicated otherwise. Meetings are held at the Government Center, 600 East Fourth Street, Charlotte, NC  28202, unless indicated otherwise on the meeting schedule.   The Board may conduct an annual retreat session to establish priorities and plan its work for the upcoming year. 

Board of Education Meeting Schedule  2021


January 12 and 26

February 9 and 23 

March 9 and 23 

April 13 and 27 

May 11 and 25 

June 8 and 22 

July 13 

August 10 and 24 

September 14 and 28 

October 12 and 26 

November 9 

December 14

Professional Development

New Board of Education members participate in a CMS orientation program. 

All Board members participate in various North Carolina School Board Association training and conferences.  In addition, they may choose to attend training and educational conferences offered by Broad Foundation, National School Board Association, Council of the Great City Schools and other organizations.  

P.O. Box 30035
Charlotte, NC 28230-0035
Phone: 980-343-3000
The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools website ( is in compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Any website accessibility concerns may be brought via the following, Email the Web Accessibility Team at WebAccessibility or Call: 980.343.0115. In compliance with Federal Law, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools administers all education programs, employment activities and admissions without discrimination against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, national origin, age, or disability. Inquiries regarding compliance with Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in education programs or activities, may be referred to the District's Title IX Coordinator at titleixcoordinator or to the Office for Civil Rights, United States Department of Education.