Mobile Navigation
CMS announces three principals and a director

The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Board of Education announced three principals and a director at its Feb. 11 meeting.

Rhiannon Polite was named principal at Lebanon Road Elementary. She has been the assistant principal at Northeast Middle since 2017. Polite was an assistant principal at Ranson Middle from 2015 to 2017, Zebulon B. Vance High from 2014 to 2015 and Sterling Elementary from 2013 to 2014. She was also a resident principal at Statesville Road Elementary from 2012 to 2013. She was a teacher at Zebulon B. Vance High from 2011 to 2012, the National Collegiate Preparatory Charter High in Washington, D.C., from 2009 to 2011 and West Mecklenburg High from 2005 to 2008. Polite has a bachelor's degree in language arts from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor, Mich., and a master's degree in school leadership and development from Harvard University in Cambridge, Mass.

Orlando Robinson was named principal at Northridge Middle. He has been principal at Reedy Creek Elementary since 2015. Robinson was a team leader in CMS Human Resources from 2013 to 2015. He was assistant principal at Rocky River High from 2010 to 2013, Hopewell High from 2009 to 2010 and Francis Bradley Middle from 2007 to 2009. Robinson was a N.C. Principal Fellow and intern at Francis Bradley Middle from 2005 to 2007. He was a teacher at James Martin Middle from 2002 to 2005 and a CMS personal education planner and Gateway teacher from 2001 to 2002. Robinson has a bachelor's degree in biology and a master's degree in teaching and school administration from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and was in the N.C. Principals' Executive Program at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Erik Turner was named principal at Zebulon B. Vance High. He has been the principal at Sedgefield Middle since 2015. Turner was assistant principal at Bruns Academy from 2011 to 2015 and resident principal at Albemarle Road Middle from 2010 to 2011. He was the N.C. program director for Citizen Schools from 2006 to 2010, a training associate for Leading to Change in 2006, Workforce Investment Act program manager and site coordinator for Communities in Schools from 2003 to 2006. Turner was the founder and executive director of the Nile Academy of Male Development from 2000 to 2003, a firefighter with the Charlotte Fire Department from 2000 to 2002 and a teacher at James Martin Middle from 1998 to 2000. Turner has a bachelor's degree in history from North Carolina Central University in Durham and a master's degree in organizational leadership from Gonzaga University in Spokane, Wash.

Kristin Kehoe was named director of academics. She has been an equity specialist in the CMS office of accountability and equity since 2018. Kehoe was a new teacher support coordinator for the West Learning Community from 2016 to 2018, an assistant principal at Whitewater Middle from 2014 to 2016 and an academic facilitator at Whitewater Academy from 2012 to 2014. She was a teacher at Whitewater Academy from 2008 to 2012 and Pawtuckett Elementary from 2007 to 2008. She has a bachelor's degree in elementary education from Elon University in Elon, a master's degree in elementary education from Pfeiffer University in Charlotte and a master's degree in educational leadership from Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C.

P.O. Box 30035
Charlotte, NC 28230-0035
Phone: 980-343-3000
The Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools website ( is in compliance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act and Title II of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Any website accessibility concerns may be brought via the following, Email the Web Accessibility Team at WebAccessibility or Call: 980.343.0115. In compliance with Federal Law, Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools administers all education programs, employment activities and admissions without discrimination against any person on the basis of gender, race, color, religion, national origin, age, or disability. Inquiries regarding compliance with Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in education programs or activities, may be referred to the District's Title IX Coordinator at titleixcoordinator or to the Office for Civil Rights, United States Department of Education.